Student Awards



Student Research Symposium 2015 Winners

The 12th Annual Student Research Symposium took place on Thursday, April 16, 2015 from 1:00-4:00pm. The following winners came from Undergraduate and Graduate levels.

The students who won at the undergraduate and graduate levels are:

Graduate Winners

1st – Sarah Herrera, SOWO

AFC clinical program evaluation: Working with African American and Latino male youth

Mentor: Dr. Petrovich

2nd – Kayla Darnell, SOWO

Most effective treatments for depression: A review of the literature

Mentor: Dr. Cohen

3rd – Laura Hardin, SOWO

O’ brother, where art thou?: Evaluating children’s connections in foster care placement

Mentor: Dr. Petrovich

4th – Teresa Hughes, COSD

The effects of two rehabilitation exercises on submental hyolaryngeal muscular activity

Mentor: Dr. Watts

Undergraduate Winners

1st – Elise Decker, KINE

Physical activity intervention in adults with intellectual disabilities

Mentor: Dr. Esposito

2nd – Elle Ryan, COSD

The effect of age on cepstral measures of phonation in female speakers

Mentor: Dr. Watts

3rd– Eva Erickson, KINE

Mental toughness among collegiate athletes across sport type

Mentor: Dr. Solomon

4th – Maddie Murrell, KINE

An examination of mental toughness among collegiate football and baseball players

Mentor: Dr. Solomon

Student Travel and Research Grant Winners

Christopher Nieves (KINE) – Association for Applied Sport Psychology National Conference

Mike Levitt (KINE) – APS Intersociety Meeting: The Integrative Biology of Exercise VII

Designed by Green Haus Design Studio - Developed by Made in Fort Worth